LiveBreach Intelligence: data breaches, leaks & ransomware, tracked as they surfaceOngoing protection: GalaxyWarden →
Recent BreachesData breach tracker

Recent Breaches › High Oakham Primary School Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware Group

HIGH severityUnverified claimHow we verify

High Oakham Primary School Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware Group: Ransomware Claim — What’s Alleged & What To Do

RBRecent Breaches Breach Intelligence·September 14, 2026
High Oakham Primary School Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware Group

Reported September 14, 2026.

HIGH
Severity
September 14, 2026
Disclosed
ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram

High Oakham Primary School was listed by The Gentlemen ransomware group on 14 September 2026. The group claims to have obtained data belonging to an undisclosed number of people; anyone who may have been connected with the school should verify their status and take appropriate steps.

Severity & verification
HIGH severityUnverified claim
Data types not itemised.
Published on a ransomware group’s leak site — an unverified extortion claim until the named organization or credible reporting corroborates it.
Check your exposure
See every leak and listing tied to your email. We can’t confirm any single incident against the sources we search, so we won’t pretend to. 15-second check, no card, no account. Details go to your inbox.

By running your scan you agree to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy, and to GalaxyWarden emailing you the results of this scan.

A ransomware group known as The Gentlemen has listed High Oakham Primary School on its leak site, according to a report dated 14 September 2026. The listing names the Mansfield, Nottinghamshire community primary school; it does not, in the available record, set out how many people might be affected or which categories of information the group says it holds. High Oakham Primary School has not publicly confirmed the claim as of writing. Until any independent confirmation appears, the episode remains an unverified claim on an extortion site rather than an established breach.

For parents, staff and local partners, a leak-site listing still matters because it is how some groups try to force payment and because schools routinely hold sensitive records. What follows separates what the listing actually asserts from what is simply unknown, and sets out practical steps that remain useful whether or not the claim is later borne out.

What is being claimed

The Gentlemen has listed High Oakham Primary School on its leak site. The public report associated with that listing is dated 14 September 2026. Beyond the organisation’s name and the fact of the listing, the available facts do not describe a method of intrusion, a ransom demand, a timeline of alleged access, a volume of data, or a count of affected individuals. Data types named as exposed are not disclosed in the record provided.

In plain terms, the group is presenting the school as a victim in the course of an extortion narrative. That presentation is a claim by the actors who operate the site. It has not been corroborated here by the school, by Nottinghamshire County Council as the maintaining authority, or by a regulator. Readers should treat scale, content and even the occurrence of a theft as unconfirmed unless and until authoritative sources say otherwise.

Inside The Gentlemen

The Gentlemen is a ransomware and extortion crew known in public reporting for double-extortion style operations: encrypting systems where they can, and threatening to publish or auction stolen files on a dedicated leak site if payment is refused. Like other groups in this category, it uses naming and timed disclosure on its site as pressure, often pairing screenshots or file samples with countdowns. Public coverage has associated the name with opportunistic targeting across sectors rather than a single industry focus, and with the familiar pattern of initial access, lateral movement, data staging and then negotiation or leak-site publication.

None of that general pattern proves what happened in this specific case. The group’s listing of High Oakham Primary School should be read as the group’s own claim. The facts supplied for this article do not include quotes from the operators about this school’s systems, nor any technical indicators unique to this victim. Absence of detail on the listing is common; it does not by itself confirm or disprove theft.

High Oakham Primary School and its sector

High Oakham Primary School is a community primary school in Mansfield, Nottinghamshire. Public organisational detail describes it as having opened in September 2001 through the amalgamation of schools during a local education reorganisation, with URN 133278, maintained by Nottinghamshire County Council rather than operating as an academy. It serves pupils aged 3 to 11 (nursery through Year 6, mixed), with a reported roll of 464 against a capacity of 428, and a relatively low free-school-meal eligibility rate for the area. Leadership detail in the same public summary names headteacher Stephanie Astle (in post since 2019) and chair of governors Lisa Vann.

Primary schools sit inside a wider education sector that depends on digital registers, safeguarding files, special-educational-needs records, staff HR systems, and communication with parents and local authorities. Even a small maintained school can hold concentrated personal data about children and families. A leak-site claim against such an organisation is consequential because the people potentially implicated are minors and caregivers, and because trust in the school’s handling of confidential information is central to its role—not because any particular failure has been proven here.

What was likely exposed

The facts state that data types named as exposed are not disclosed. It is therefore not possible to say from the public listing record what, if anything, was copied. Asserting a specific inventory would go beyond the evidence.

If files were taken from a community primary school of this kind, organisations in the sector typically hold pupil admission and attendance data, parent and carer contact details, dates of birth, health or dietary notes where provided, safeguarding and pastoral records, special needs documentation, staff employment and payroll-related information, governor and visitor records, and routine administrative correspondence. Some of that material is highly sensitive; some is more routine. Which of those categories, if any, appear in attackers’ hands in this instance remains unconfirmed. The listing’s silence on contents should be read as absence of verified detail, not as proof that nothing was taken and not as proof that everything was.

Why it matters

For families and staff, the practical risk is conditional. If personal data from a school environment were published or traded, possible harms include unwanted contact, phishing that impersonates the school or the council, identity misuse over time, and distress where safeguarding or health-related notes are involved. Children’s data warrants particular care because minors cannot easily monitor or remediate exposure themselves.

For the organisation, an extortion listing can disrupt operations, consume leadership time, and raise questions from parents and the maintaining authority even when the underlying claim is disputed or incomplete. None of that establishes that High Oakham Primary School was breached or that any named dataset left its control; it explains why monitoring the claim, and preparing communications if confirmation emerges, is prudent. A leak-site entry alone does not establish negligence, security posture, or culture. It establishes only that a named group chose to list the school.

Steps worth taking either way

If you are a parent, carer or member of staff linked to the school, treat unsolicited messages that cite the incident, demand payment, or ask for passwords or codes with scepticism. Prefer official channels the school or Nottinghamshire County Council already use. If you are told that specific records were involved, ask for that confirmation in writing from the school rather than from third parties repeating leak-site claims.

Either way, basic hygiene helps: use unique passwords for email and parent-portal accounts, enable multi-factor authentication where offered, and watch for phishing that leverages local school details. If you believe your child’s or your own information may have been exposed in any incident, consider credit or identity monitoring appropriate to your jurisdiction and report suspected fraud to the relevant authorities. You can also run a free exposure scan of your email address to check whether that address has already appeared in known breach datasets elsewhere—useful context, though it will not prove or disprove this particular listing.

Public detail on this claim remains limited. Further clarity, if it comes, should come from the school, the council, or competent investigators—not from the operators of an extortion site.

AICompiled with AI assistance from public sources and published under our editorial standards.

Editorial & sourcing policy
Recent Breaches is a breach-monitoring service and news aggregator. We do not exfiltrate, host, purchase, or redistribute stolen data, and we do not hold the data claimed in leak-site listings. Incidents are compiled from publicly accessible sources and threat-intelligence platforms and are reported as claims attributed to their source. We promptly correct or remove material shown to be inaccurate — write to support@galaxywarden.com or press@recentbreaches.com.
Check if you’re exposed →

How this breach connects

Company

Attributed to

Method

SourceLeak-site claim data adapted from RansomLook.io, used under CC BY 4.0.

CompanyHigh Oakham Primary School security record
84/100
DoxxScan™ · Low doxx risk
B- 76Above-average record

1 reported incident on record.

See High Oakham Primary School’s full breach history →

More recent breaches

Downrite Engineering Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware GroupSeptember 14, 2026Agenzia Vittoria Assicurazioni Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware GroupSeptember 14, 2026Aurora Technologies Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware GroupSeptember 14, 2026Hattiesburg Eye Clinic Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware GroupSeptember 14, 2026

Latest breaches

Read GalaxyWarden’s full analysis of the High Oakham Primary School Listed by The Gentlemen Ransomware Group →

Source: threat-actor leak-site listing

Publicly posted by thegentlemen — unverified claim, pending independent verification. Leak-site claim data adapted from RansomLook.io, used under CC BY 4.0.

Breach listings — particularly those originating from ransomware or leak sites — are third-party claims that may be unverified, incomplete, or inaccurate. A listing does not by itself confirm that a breach occurred or that any specific data was exposed. Severity is an automated assessment, not a definitive rating. Verification status is shown where available.

Attributions to threat groups and methods reflect public reporting and, in some cases, unverified claims made by the groups themselves; they may be incomplete or later revised. Recent Breaches and GalaxyWarden are independent and are not affiliated with, and do not endorse, any company or group named on this page. This information is aggregated from public sources for awareness only and is not legal, security, or investment advice.

ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram