LiveBreach Intelligence: data breaches, leaks & ransomware, tracked as they surfaceOngoing protection: GalaxyWarden →
Recent BreachesData breach tracker

Recent Breaches › Texas Capital Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)

MEDIUM severityConfirmedHow we verify

Texas Capital Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General): What Was Exposed & What To Do

RBRecent Breaches Breach Intelligence·June 3, 2026
Texas Capital Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)

Occurred April 26, 2026 · publicly disclosed June 3, 2026. Approximately 2469 people affected.

MEDIUM
Severity
2469
People affected
1
Data types exposed
June 3, 2026
Disclosed
ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram

Texas Capital notified the Oregon Attorney General on June 03, 2026 of a data breach that occurred on April 26, 2026 and exposed the personal information of 2,469 individuals. Anyone who provided personal information to Texas Capital should check the notice and take steps to protect their data.

Severity & verification
MEDIUM severityConfirmed
Data types not itemised.
Corroborated by an official disclosure or a verified breach feed.
Check your exposure
2469 accounts were exposed here. We can’t confirm any single incident against the sources we search — but we can show you every leak and listing tied to your email. 15-sec check, no card.

By running your scan you agree to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy, and to GalaxyWarden emailing you the results of this scan.

For roughly 2,469 people whose information was involved, a data incident at Texas Capital is not an abstract cybersecurity story. It is a practical question about whether personal details tied to them are now harder to control, and what that could mean for identity misuse, unwanted contact, or financial fraud over time.

According to a filing reported to the Oregon Department of Justice on June 03, 2026, Texas Capital notified Oregon residents of a data breach. That notice places the incident itself on April 26, 2026, and describes the exposed material as personal information. Public detail beyond those points remains limited, but the combination of a named date, a defined headcount, and a formal state notification is enough to treat the event as confirmed and consequential for anyone who may be in the affected group.

Inside the incident

What is publicly established comes from the Oregon Attorney General–related breach notice pathway. Texas Capital reported the matter in a filing dated June 03, 2026. The same filing sets the incident date as April 26, 2026. The number of people affected is given as 2,469. The data types named as exposed are described as personal information, per the breach notification.

How the incident occurred—whether through compromised credentials, a vendor pathway, malware, misconfiguration, or another cause—is not disclosed in the available facts. Likewise, the facts do not describe containment steps, forensic findings, whether systems were encrypted or exfiltrated in a particular way, or how long unauthorized access may have lasted before discovery. There is no attributed threat group in the record provided. The gap between the April 26, 2026 incident date and the June 03, 2026 reporting date is noted in the filing timeline, but the reasons for that interval are not explained in the summary at hand.

In short, the confirmed picture is narrow but clear: a defined incident date, a subsequent state filing, a stated population of 2,469 people, and personal information as the category of data involved. Everything else about method, full geographic scope beyond the Oregon notification context, or granular field-level inventory is undisclosed here.

How a breach like this happens

Incidents described only as involving “personal information” at a financial or capital-markets–adjacent organization typically follow a small set of familiar patterns, even when a specific case does not name which pattern applied. Attackers or opportunistic actors often obtain an initial foothold through phishing, stolen remote-access credentials, vulnerable internet-facing services, or weaknesses at a third-party provider that already holds customer or employee files. Once inside, the goal is usually to locate directories, databases, backups, or document stores that concentrate identity and account-related records.

From there, data may be copied quietly over days or weeks, or a sudden bulk transfer may trigger detection. In other cases, the first clear signal is not technical telemetry but a later discovery during routine audit, law-enforcement notice, or internal review—after which legal and regulatory clocks start for assessing what left the environment and who must be told. None of that sequence is confirmed for this Texas Capital matter; it is general background on how breaches of this broad type commonly unfold when method details are sparse.

Organizations in banking and related capital services also sit inside dense vendor ecosystems—core processors, cloud tools, document platforms, and professional services—so a compromise need not begin on the institution’s own laptops to end with customer personal information at risk. Again, the Oregon filing summary does not state which pathway, if any of these, applied here.

Who is Texas Capital?

Texas Capital is the organization named in the Oregon Department of Justice filing. In ordinary public understanding, entities operating under the Texas Capital name in the financial sector are associated with commercial and private banking, treasury and capital-markets services, and related client relationships. Firms in that sector routinely maintain records needed to open and service accounts, meet know-your-customer and anti-money-laundering obligations, extend credit, and communicate with clients and counterparties.

That role makes a breach consequential even when only high-level categories are disclosed. Financial institutions hold concentrated identity data linked to money movement and long-term customer relationships. A confirmed incident affecting thousands of people therefore raises both individual privacy concerns and institutional obligations around notice, remediation support, and regulatory reporting—obligations reflected in the fact that Oregon residents were notified through the state’s process.

Nothing in the provided facts establishes negligence, security maturity, or fault. The public record used here is limited to the notice facts: organization, dates, headcount, and the personal-information category.

What was likely exposed

The breach notification names the exposed data as personal information. It does not, in the facts given, itemize fields such as Social Security numbers, driver’s license numbers, full account numbers, dates of birth, addresses, or contact details. Those specifics are unconfirmed.

Organizations of this kind typically hold, in the normal course of business, combinations of identity data, contact information, government identifiers, account and relationship records, and sometimes employment or beneficial-ownership details for certain clients. That is sector background, not a statement of what left Texas Capital’s environment in this incident. Readers should treat only “personal information,” as stated in the notice, as the confirmed category, and treat any finer inventory as undisclosed until the organization or regulators publish more detail.

What's at stake

For affected individuals, the core risk is misuse of personal information: attempts to open credit, file fraudulent claims, impersonate someone in account recovery processes, or craft more convincing scams that reference real relationship details. Even when a notice does not list every data element, “personal information” in a financial context is often enough to raise monitoring needs for credit activity, tax-related fraud, and account takeovers at other institutions that rely on the same identity attributes.

For the organization, stakes include regulatory scrutiny, the cost of investigation and notification, potential civil exposure, and erosion of client trust—especially where commercial banking relationships depend on discretion and control of sensitive files. The confirmed figure of 2,469 people sets a concrete scale for outreach and support, while the multi-week span from the April 26, 2026 incident date to the June 03, 2026 filing underscores that discovery, assessment, and legal notice work can lag the underlying event. None of that proves particular harm has already occurred for every person counted; it describes why the notice exists and why vigilance is reasonable.

What to do if you're exposed

If you believe you are among those notified, or you have a relationship with Texas Capital and receive an official letter, keep the notice and follow any enrollment instructions for credit monitoring or identity-protection services the organization offers. Place a fraud alert or consider a credit freeze with the major credit bureaus if you are in the United States, and review bank, card, and credit reports for accounts or inquiries you do not recognize. Be cautious of follow-on phishing that spoofs the bank or a regulator and asks for passwords, one-time codes, or remote access.

Change passwords on related accounts if you reused them, enable multi-factor authentication where available, and document any suspicious activity with dates and reference numbers if you need to dispute charges or report identity theft. For a quick additional check on whether your email address has appeared in other known breach datasets, you can run a free exposure scan of your email through a reputable breach-notification lookup service and then tighten security on any accounts that show up.

AICompiled with AI assistance from public sources and published under our editorial standards.

Editorial & sourcing policy
Recent Breaches is a breach-monitoring service and news aggregator. We do not exfiltrate, host, purchase, or redistribute stolen data, and we do not hold the data claimed in leak-site listings. Incidents are compiled from publicly accessible sources and threat-intelligence platforms and are reported as claims attributed to their source. We promptly correct or remove material shown to be inaccurate — write to support@galaxywarden.com or press@recentbreaches.com.
Check if you’re exposed →

How this breach connects

Company

CompanyTexas Capital security record
52/100
DoxxScan™ · Elevated doxx risk
D+ 56Weak record

1 reported incident on record.

See Texas Capital’s full breach history →
RelatedMore incidents at Texas Capital

More recent breaches

ASOS US Sales LLC Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)September 9, 2026BestCare treatment Services, Inc. Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)September 8, 2026Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)September 3, 2026American Addiction Centers Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General)September 3, 2026

Latest breaches

Read GalaxyWarden’s full analysis of the Texas Capital Data Breach Notice (Oregon Attorney General) →

Source: Oregon Department of Justice breach notification

Verified breach

Breach listings — particularly those originating from ransomware or leak sites — are third-party claims that may be unverified, incomplete, or inaccurate. A listing does not by itself confirm that a breach occurred or that any specific data was exposed. Severity is an automated assessment, not a definitive rating. Verification status is shown where available.

Attributions to threat groups and methods reflect public reporting and, in some cases, unverified claims made by the groups themselves; they may be incomplete or later revised. Recent Breaches and GalaxyWarden are independent and are not affiliated with, and do not endorse, any company or group named on this page. This information is aggregated from public sources for awareness only and is not legal, security, or investment advice.

ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram