LiveBreach Intelligence: data breaches, leaks & ransomware, tracked as they surfaceOngoing protection: GalaxyWarden →
Recent BreachesData breach tracker

Recent Breaches › Oregon Food Bank Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)

CRITICAL severityConfirmedHow we verify

Oregon Food Bank Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General): What Was Exposed & What To Do

RBRecent Breaches Breach Intelligence·April 20, 2026
Oregon Food Bank Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)

Reported April 20, 2026. Approximately 11 people affected.

CRITICAL
Severity
11
People affected
1
Data types exposed
April 20, 2026
Disclosed
ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram

Oregon Food Bank has disclosed a data breach affecting 11 individuals, exposing financial account codes and credit or debit account information. The notice was filed with the Vermont Attorney General on April 20, 2026; anyone who may have been affected should review the full notice and consider placing a fraud alert or credit freeze.

Severity & verification
CRITICAL severityConfirmed
Exposes financial data.
Corroborated by an official disclosure or a verified breach feed.
Check your exposure
11 accounts were exposed here. We can’t confirm any single incident against the sources we search — but we can show you every leak and listing tied to your email. 15-sec check, no card.

By running your scan you agree to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy, and to GalaxyWarden emailing you the results of this scan.

A small number of people may have had sensitive payment-related information exposed in a data incident involving Oregon Food Bank. According to a notice reported to the Vermont Attorney General on April 20, 2026, the organization notified Vermont residents that financial account codes and credit or debit account information were among the data involved. Only 11 people are listed as affected in that filing, but for anyone in that group the practical stakes are immediate: account identifiers and payment details can be misused for fraud or unauthorized transactions if they fall into the wrong hands.

Public detail beyond the Vermont filing is limited. What is known comes from the organization’s notice as reported to the regulator: a data breach occurred, Vermont residents were notified, and the categories of information named above were exposed. Timing of the underlying intrusion, how systems were accessed, and whether other states or larger populations were involved are not described in the available record.

Inside the incident

Oregon Food Bank submitted a data breach notice that was reported to the Vermont Attorney General on April 20, 2026. The filing indicates that the organization notified Vermont residents and that the information exposed included financial account codes and credit or debit account information. The notice identifies 11 people as affected.

The public record does not describe when the incident was discovered, when unauthorized access began or ended, what systems were involved, or what technical method was used. It does not state whether the exposure resulted from a ransomware attack, a compromised account, a vendor incident, misconfigured storage, or another cause. No threat group is named or attributed in the disclosure. Scale beyond the figure of 11 affected individuals is not provided in the Vermont notice summary.

In short, the What's Publicly Reported are narrow: a formal notice to Vermont residents, a reported date of April 20, 2026, eleven people affected, and the named categories of financial account and payment-related data.

How a breach like this happens

Incidents that expose financial account codes and credit or debit information often follow familiar patterns, though none of these should be read as a confirmed description of this specific case. Attackers commonly obtain initial access through stolen or guessed credentials, phishing messages that trick staff into revealing passwords or approving fraudulent logins, unpatched remote-access software, or weaknesses at a third-party service provider that handles payments, donations, or administrative data.

Once inside a network or cloud environment, intruders may search for files, databases, or applications that store donor, client, or employee payment details. Financial account codes and card-related data are valuable because they can support fraud, account takeover, or resale. In other cases, data is copied from backups, exported reports, or integrated accounting systems rather than from a primary “payment” server. Organizations sometimes learn of exposure only after unusual account activity, a vendor alert, or an external notification.

Because the Oregon Food Bank notice does not describe method or actor, any discussion of technique remains general background. The absence of public technical detail is common in early or narrowly scoped regulatory filings, which often focus on who was notified and what categories of personal information were involved rather than on forensic narrative.

Oregon Food Bank and its sector

Oregon Food Bank is a hunger-relief organization that works to distribute food and support communities facing food insecurity. Organizations in this sector typically manage relationships with donors, volunteers, partner agencies, clients, and staff. In the ordinary course of operations they may collect contact information, donation and payment records, banking or card details for recurring gifts, and administrative data needed to run programs and comply with reporting requirements.

A breach affecting even a small number of people matters in this setting because trust underpins both charitable giving and the willingness of households to share information when seeking help. Payment-related data is especially sensitive: it is directly usable for financial harm. Food banks and similar nonprofits also often operate with constrained technology budgets and complex webs of partners, which can expand the surface area where personal or financial data is stored or transmitted—without implying fault in any particular incident.

The Vermont filing shows that at least some affected individuals had a connection that triggered notice under that state’s breach-notification rules. Whether those people were donors, clients, employees, or another category is not stated in the available summary.

What data was at risk

The notice, as reported, names the following among the information exposed: financial account codes, and credit or debit account information. The filing lists 11 people as affected. No other data types are named in the facts provided, and the public summary does not itemize exact fields (for example, full account numbers versus partial numbers, expiration dates, or routing details) beyond those category labels.

Organizations of this kind often hold additional categories of information in normal operations—names, addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, donation histories, and sometimes more detailed financial or household data. Those categories are not confirmed as exposed in this incident. Exact contents beyond the named financial account codes and credit or debit account information remain limited to what the notice states; anything further is unconfirmed.

What's at stake

For the people whose information was involved, the main concrete risks are financial. Credit or debit account information and financial account codes can be used to attempt unauthorized charges, open or access accounts, or support social-engineering attempts against banks or card issuers. Even a small affected population does not reduce the impact on each person if their payment credentials are misused.

For the organization, stakes include the duty to notify and support affected individuals, potential regulatory follow-up, operational cost of investigation and remediation, and the need to maintain donor and community confidence. None of that establishes negligence as fact; it simply describes the ordinary consequences that follow a confirmed exposure of payment-related data.

Because only eleven people are identified in the Vermont notice, the incident as disclosed appears limited in headcount. That does not eliminate residual risk if the same data appears later in fraud attempts, nor does it speak to whether other jurisdictions received separate notices not reflected in this record.

If your data was in this breach

If you believe you are one of the individuals notified, or if you have a past relationship with Oregon Food Bank that involved sharing payment details, treat the named data types as potentially exposed. Contact your bank or card issuer promptly to report possible exposure, ask about monitoring or replacement cards, and review recent statements for unfamiliar charges. Consider placing fraud alerts or credit freezes with the major credit bureaus if account numbers or related identifiers were involved. Keep copies of any notice you received and use official organization or regulator channels rather than unsolicited messages that claim to “help” with the breach.

Change passwords on related financial and email accounts, and enable multi-factor authentication where available. Be cautious of phishing that references the food bank or a “breach refund.” For a broader check on whether your email address has appeared in other known breach datasets, you can run a free exposure scan of your email through reputable breach-notification lookup services and then secure any accounts that show prior exposure.

Public information on this incident remains anchored to the April 20, 2026 Vermont Attorney General filing: eleven people affected, and financial account codes plus credit or debit account information among the data exposed. Further operational or forensic detail has not been included in the facts available here.

AICompiled with AI assistance from public sources and published under our editorial standards.

Editorial & sourcing policy
Recent Breaches is a breach-monitoring service and news aggregator. We do not exfiltrate, host, purchase, or redistribute stolen data, and we do not hold the data claimed in leak-site listings. Incidents are compiled from publicly accessible sources and threat-intelligence platforms and are reported as claims attributed to their source. We promptly correct or remove material shown to be inaccurate — write to support@galaxywarden.com or press@recentbreaches.com.
Check if you’re exposed →

How this breach connects

Company

CompanyOregon Food Bank security record
60/100
DoxxScan™ · Moderate doxx risk
D+ 56Weak record

1 reported incident on record.

See Oregon Food Bank’s full breach history →
RelatedMore incidents at Oregon Food Bank

More recent breaches

Petco Animal Supplies Stores, Inc. Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)September 10, 2026Heywood Healthcare Inc. Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)September 10, 2026Marion Military Institute Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)September 10, 2026City of North Adams Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General)September 9, 2026

Latest breaches

Read GalaxyWarden’s full analysis of the Oregon Food Bank Data Breach Notice (Vermont Attorney General) →

Source: Vermont Attorney General breach notification

Verified breach

Breach listings — particularly those originating from ransomware or leak sites — are third-party claims that may be unverified, incomplete, or inaccurate. A listing does not by itself confirm that a breach occurred or that any specific data was exposed. Severity is an automated assessment, not a definitive rating. Verification status is shown where available.

Attributions to threat groups and methods reflect public reporting and, in some cases, unverified claims made by the groups themselves; they may be incomplete or later revised. Recent Breaches and GalaxyWarden are independent and are not affiliated with, and do not endorse, any company or group named on this page. This information is aggregated from public sources for awareness only and is not legal, security, or investment advice.

ShareXLinkedInFacebookRedditWhatsAppTelegram